Since 2001...

The National Association of Elected Fire Officials (NAEFO) was formally organized in 2001 by the state association of Oregon, Washington, California and Montana. The organization was the result of years of collaborative meetings with elected and appointed officials from several western states who had banded together to work on issues at the regional and national level. NAEFO individual and state members have ranged from California to New York and Arizona to Missouri.

NAEFO Organizational Structure

The National Association of Elected Fire Officials is an membership-based organization of individuals who are current and former elected fire officials, state associations of the agencies represented by elected fire officials and other individuals or organizations affiliated with the fire service.  The membership elects officers and at-large members of a Board of Directors. Each state association member appoints a member to the Board of Directors.

Meet the Officers and Administrative Secretary

The National Association of Elected Fire Officials (NAEFO) is run on a day-to-day basis by the Officers and Administrative Secretary.



Candy McCullough

Candy is a Commissioner and Chair of the Vashon Fire & Rescue in Washington.

Curtis Hoopes

Director from Oregon State

Curtis Hoopes

Curtis currently serves as an At Large member on the Chiloquin Fire & Recue Board of Directors and also serves as the Position #6 Director on the Oregon Fire District Directors Association Board of Directors.


Vice President

Adam G. Rosenlund

Adam is a Commissioner of Graham Fire & Rescue in Washington as well as a firefighter for Central Pierce Fire & Rescue and has taught firefighters throughout the region, including starting the fire academy program in a Grays Harbor.


Administrative Secretary

Jeanne Ernst

Jeanne is the Administrative Secretary from Vashon Island, Washington.



Barry Orth

Barry is a Commissioner of Benton County Fire Protection District #2 in Washington.


Director from Washington State

Gerry W. Gustafson

Jerry has been a Commissioner since 1994 of Graham Fire & Rescue in Washington and currently serves as the Chair.  Jerry is also an elected member of the Pierce County Charter Review Commission.

Meet the Committee Chairs

A number of committees have been created to involve members in the future direction of the National Association of Elected Fire Officials (NAEFO). Dedicated individuals play a crucial role in the effectiveness of NAEFO on one of the following committees: Bylaws; Communications; Conference and Workshops; Education; Legislative; Membership; and Sponsorship.

Click here to see Policy 5, Appointment and Authority of Committees.

Monte Olsen

Bylaws Committee

Committee Chair Monte Olsen

Monte is Past President and Honorary Life Member of the Missouri Association of Fire Protection Districts.  Monte is an Adjunct Professor for the University of Missouri's Fire and Rescue Training Institute where he teaches the Certified Fire and Ambulance District Board Training course. Monte served as Vice President of NAEFO and is a former member of the National Association of Parliamentarians.



Committee Chair Vacant

Education Committee


Communications Committee

Committee Chair Vacant

Communications Committee



Committee Chair Vacant

Legislative Committee



Committee Chair Vacant

Sponsorship Committee


Conference and Workshops Committee

Committee Chair Vacant

Conference and Workshops Committee


Membership Committee

Committee Chair Larry Howell

Larry is a Commissioner and the Chaplain of Benton County Fire Protection District #2 in Washington.

How can you help NAEFO?

The work of NAEFO is done by many people--how can you contribute?  Volunteer your expertise or ask, "What needs done?".